Share

Warning to not accept a contact on Messenger

Warning to not accept a contact ton Messenger

One of your friends sends you a warning to not accept a contact on Messenger?

It tells you they are a hacker and if you (or any of your friends) accept them as a friend in Messenger, your Facebook account and your computer will be hacked? Here we go again! People are so easily fooled and are spreading these messages like wildfire! But, please there is no need to share this message. It is a hoax and its content is simply intended to sow fear and pollute your inbox.

Here is a version of what that message might look like:  “Please tell all the contacts in your Messenger list, not to accept Jayden K Smith friendship request. He is a hacker and has the system connected to your Facebook account. If one of your contacts accepts it, you will also be hacked, so make sure that all your friends know it. Thanks. Forwarded as received.”

These messages have circulated on the Web for many years and hackers are regularly adapting them to the most popular chat software of the time. These types of hoaxes were even done on the popular MSN Messenger back in the day when that was the most popular messaging software.

There are many variations where a few details are changed, but the message is pretty much the same. So, DO NOT take these messages seriously. Remember, just accepting a new friend on Facebook or Messenger can not compromise the security of your account or your computer. Nevertheless be careful who you do accept on Messenger because unknown friends and hackers could try to direct you to malicious links or to extract confidential information from you.

Social media is a great tool, but remember to be smart and to be safe!